By Mike Leone

August 10, 2011

(Hartford, OH)…Late Model fans are in for a real treat Saturday at Sharon Speedway as it’ll be a doubleheader of Late Model action featuring three feature events!. The Super Late Models under the All Star Circuit of Champions banner will be joined by the Barris Supply FASTRAK Late Models, who will complete their July 23 event as well as be featured in a complete new program! Also on the card will be the Summit Racing Equipment Econo Mods and the Presidential Lawn Care Mini Stocks. The event will be presented by Car*Mate Trailers.

The Super Late Models will be making their first and only appearance of the season. A big $4,000 will await the 40-lap feature winner! Last season, Rick “Boom” Briggs captured the first ever All Star race at Sharon beating defending Series champion Robbie Blair, Doug Horton, Dave Hess, Jr., and Gregg Satterlee.

Currently Eddie Carrier, Jr. leads the points over Donnie Moran, Miley, rookie contender Devin Moran, Bryan Cressley, Rod Conley, Russ Frohnaphel, Russell King, Briggs, and Greg Oakes.

A big field of FASTRAK Late Models are expected as not only will they be on hand to finish up their rained out July 23 Northeast Touring Series program, but will also be competing a compete in a new Weekly Series event. Forty-five cars were on hand for the July 23 show, which was rained out after the completion of the five heat races.

Two B mains, a 30-lap $2,000 to-win feature, and a non-qualifiers program still have to be completed in addition to the new program. Pittsburgh area racers George Kowatic and Kyle Lukon will bring the feature field to green. Also, Series sponsor Sweeney Chevrolet Buick GMC will be giving a brand new GM 604 engine away valued at $5,100 to one of the lucky drivers that was on hand back on July 23!

Only three FASTRAK racers have been able to win more than one feature this season at Sharon including three-time winner Joe Martin, current point leader John Volpe, and last week’s winner Mike Pegher, Jr. Other winners this season include Robbie Blair, Josh Holtgraver, Chad Wright, Tom Snyder, Jr., Max Blair, Josh Double, and Bill Cunningham. Volpe leads Double of nearby Bristolville, Ohio by just seven points in the Sharon standings.

On the Northeast Touring side, two-time champion Max Blair leads Pegher by 29 points. Pegher has cut into the gap each of the past three races and is already qualified for Saturday’s feature, while Blair is set to line-up in one of the two B mains. Pegher leads the win list with four victories followed by Blair with three, Dan Angelicchio two, while Holtgraver, Russell King, Steve Dixon, and Joe Martin have also won features this season.

“Late Models have a strong history at Sharon Speedway,” acknowledged second year GM Dave Willoughby. “Fans will get a rare opportunity to see three Late Model features on this event! The Super Lates always put on a great show at Sharon and the FASTRAK competition has been incredible this year with 10 different winners in 13 races! Late Model fans will certainly be in heaven for this show!”

The growing Econo Mods will be the only open wheel division on tap Saturday racing for a record $350 to-win and an increased payoff throughout the field. The Summit Racing Equipment-sponsored division was moved over to the Saturday program last week and responded with the largest car count in the two-year history of the division at 17! There have been 22 different cars that have competed this season. Junior Mechling has a 60-point lead on Todd Canter, but has yet to find victory lane in 2011. The Warren, Ohio veteran has used consistency with five straight third place finishes and hasn’t finished worse than fourth in any of the nine features this season!

Scott Gilliland broke into victory lane in the competitive Mini Stock division last Saturday for his first win of the season. The Presidential Lawn Care-sponsored division has been on some great racing! Bill Fuchs, who won 8 of the first 13 races, has been struggling of late as his season’s worst three finishes have all come in the last three weeks with finishes of 7th, 13th, and 4th. The Greenville, Pa. racer still has a commanding 93-point lead on Lucas Sprouse, who still hasn’t been able to find victory lane. Just four nights of points remain, and if Fuchs can finish 14th or better in those features he’ll capture his first championship no matter what he does in the heat races or if Sprouse would win every heat and feature.

Hot laps begin at 6:15 p.m. on Saturday followed by All Star Late Model qualifying and racing at 7. Adult admission is $20. Students 9-13 are $8. Children five and under are free. Pit passes are $35. Advance tickets are on sale, which will admit the holder into the grandstands one hour early for preferred seating, by calling the track office at 330-772-5481.

Sharon Speedway is owned by the Blaney, Weller, and Kirila Families and is a 3/8-mile dirt track located on Custer-Orangeville Road in Hartford, Ohio near the intersection of Routes 7 & 305. For more information, check out the website at or call 330-772-5481. Become a fan of Sharon Speedway on Facebook at and follow us on Twitter at



No racing until further notice due to continued state mandates. Stay tuned as to when we can resume our schedule