By Mike Leone

May 31, 2012

(Hartford, OH)…After raining out the features on the second leg of the Bill Emig Memorial last Sunday, Sharon Speedway will resume it’s “Steel Valley Thunder” card of Governor Insurance Agency DIRTcar Big-Block Modifieds, Barris Supply FASTRAK Late Models, Gibson Insurance Agency Stock Cars, Summit Racing Equipment Econo Mods, HTMA/Precise Racing Products Econo Mods and the Deforest Used Parts Mini Stocks this Saturday night (June 2). The Econo Mod and Mini Stock make-up features are also slated. Race time is 7 p.m.

Saturday’s promotions are RAD Racing Poster Contest Night along with free grandstand admission for Twin-State Auto Racing Club members. The National Center for Prevention and Research Solutions, the RAD Racing Team, RAD Racer Amanda Stiffler, and Sharon Speedway are hosting the rescheduled RAD Night at the Races Saturday. For over 20 years, the RAD Racing Team and Race Against Drugs have supported drug free youth through their partnership with motorsports.

RAD Racer Amanda Stiffler and Sharon Speedway are inviting students in elementary, middle/junior high, and high school to participate in the RAD at the Races Poster Contest. All youth participating in the poster contest will receive free entry to the event.

A winner from each school level will be selected and may be published in the Stay on Track Activity Book that will be distributed to children across the country in 2012. All winners will be recognized on the RAD Racing Team website at www.radracingteam.org. Posters will be judged on creativity, application of racing theme, level of detail, originality and clarity. Entry forms are available at http://www.sharonspeedway.com/wp-content/u…-Entry-Form.pdf.

The only thing that has stopped Kevin Bolland Rex King this season is rain. The veteran racers have evenly split the four DIRTcar Big-Block Modifieds features run to date with Bolland leading King by 12 points in the standings. Drivers like Dave Murdick, Jeremiah Shingledecker, Rex King, Jr., Dean Pearson, Jim Weller, Jr., Rob Kristyak, Kevin Hoffman, and Jim Rasey have all been fast, but have yet been to unseat the duo. It was good to see another top contender in Del Rougeux, Jr. back in the pit area on Sunday.

Two-time winner Will Thomas III is in his first full season of FASTRAK and has been impressive as he currently leads second year racer Matt Latta by 25 points. Max Blair won his first of the season last Saturday during the Bill Emig Memorial, while Sunday’s feature was rained out and will be made up on August 18. The next big FASTRAK event is June 23 for the second annual “Gary Knollinger Memorial” paying $2,000 to-win.

The E-Mods continue to fill the pits week in and week out. Last Saturday a season high 37 cars turned out for the UEMS-sanctioned event. Joel Watson was able to become the season’s fifth different winner in as many races in the competitive division joining Brent Rhebergen, Mike Kinney, Jack Young and Joe Gabrielson. Interestingly enough, it’s Shawn Shingledecker atop the standings by seven over Young.

The Stock Cars will be back to regular rules on Saturday. Chris Schneider invaded for Saturday’s “open” rules event, while Sunday’s feature will be made up at the next “open” rules event on September 14. Tim Burns, who ironically won two “open” shows in 2011, leads the points by 10 over four-time champion Steve D’Apolito, who is looking for his first win of the season.

A lot of points will be up for grabs on Saturday night for the Econo Mods as they will not only run their typical heats and feature, but also will begin the night with last Sunday’s make-up feature paying $350 to-win. Brandon Blackshear is the division’s only repeat winner as he leads the points by nine over Brian Hathaway, who scored his first career win earlier this month.

Like the Econo Mods, the Mini Stocks will also have a great opportunity to add points to their season totals as their $200 to-win May 27 make-up feature joins their regularly scheduled program. And like Blackshear, Bill Fuchs is the division’s only repeat winner to date. Last year’s top winner has his hands full this year as the competition has increased. The Greenville, Pa. racer leads Scott Gilliland by six points in his quest to defend his championship.

Pits open at 4 p.m. on Saturday with grandstands at 5 on Saturday. Race time is 7 p.m. Adult admission is $13 and pit passes are $25. Students 13 and under are always free. As a reminder, due to everyone’s patience in last Sunday’s matter, rain checks will be accepted for an $8 discount off admission even though make-up features will be run in all divisions.

Sharon Speedway is owned by the Blaney, Weller, and Kirila Families and is a 3/8-mile dirt track located on Custer-Orangeville Road in Hartford, Ohio near the intersection of Routes 7 & 305. For more information, check out the website at www.sharonspeedway.com or call 330-772-5481 330-772-5481 . Become a fan of Sharon Speedway on Facebook at www.facebook.com/sharonspeedway and follow us on Twitter at www.twitter.com/sharonspdwy.



No racing until further notice due to continued state mandates. Stay tuned as to when we can resume our schedule