Rex King wins $1010 “Drive to be a Champion” crown in Big-Block Mods over Murdick & Bolland

Rex King wins $1010 “Drive to be a Champion” crown in Big-Block Mods over Murdick & Bolland

By Mike Leone

October 26, 2012

(Hartford, OH)…The Big-Block Modifieds have been a weekly featured attraction at Sharon Speedway since dirt replaced the asphalt in 1981. Over the years, drivers like Lou Blaney, Bob Kraus, Rex King, Jim Weller, John Braymer, and Tim Doran set a standard in the Modified division like none other.

While the Big-Block Modifieds have lost some of its popularity in recent years, Sharon has tried to preserve the division. This year, DIRTcar was brought on to sanction the division to bring the rules in line with Lernerville Speedway and to offer additional monies and incentives for the racers.

Another program added in 2012 was the inaugural “Drive to be a Champion” In Memory of Lou Blaney. The program looked at drivers’ best 10 finishes during 2012 with the addition of 10 bonus points for attending the “Lou Blaney Memorial”. Thanks to Carpenter’s Towing, Colonial Metals, Lightning Racers, Wedge Motorsports, Dave Blaney Racing, and the Tom Keir Family, $1,830 was put into a point fund.

While Rex King battled Dave Murdick right down to the final night in the Governor Insurance Agency DIRTcar Big-Block Modified points only to come up six points shy to Murdick in his bid for his third straight track championship and fifth overall, King though was able to garner the $1,010 “Drive to be a Champion” title by 20 points over Murdick!

The Bristolville, Ohio driver’s three victories in the KMB, Inc-owned, GS Engine Power/Bristol Disposal/Midway Garage Doors/RD Banks Chevrolet/Longboyz Tavern/Hunyady Auction/Campbells Hydroponics-sponsored #65 brought his all-time total up to 42 wins, which is second on the track’s all-time win list.

Besides his championship monies, Murdick of Butler, Pa. will receive an additional $510 at the awards banquet on February 2 thanks to his runner-up in the “Drive to be a Champion”. Murdick matched King’s three wins, but had two less runner-up finishes, one less third place, and also lost 10 points to King by not being able to compete in the “Lou Blaney Memorial”.

Also taking a share of the point fund in third is Kevin Bolland. Despite only competing in nine events, the New Brighton, Pa. veteran made the most of his point opportunities with three wins including the prestigious “Lou Blaney Memorial” and was able to outgain Rex King, Jr. by 10 points to secure the final points paying position. Bolland’s 21 career wins place him just outside the top five, one win behind Braymer and two back of Weller for the fourth position.

FINAL Top 10 “Drive to be a Champion” DIRTcar Big-Block Modified Points: 1. Rex King (65) 292 2. Dave Murdick (61) 272 3. Kevin Bolland (777) 243 4. Rex King, Jr. (165) 233 5. Jim Weller (31) 208 6. Dean Pearson (8J) 204 7. Jeremiah Shingledecker (37MD) 194 8. Tom Mattocks (69) 177 9. Carl Murdick (6) 173 10. Kevin Hoffman (17H) 172.

Sharon Speedway is owned by the Blaney, Weller, and Kirila Families and is a 3/8-mile dirt track located on Custer-Orangeville Road in Hartford, Ohio near the intersection of Routes 7 & 305. For more information, check out the website at or call 330-772-5481. Become a fan of Sharon Speedway on Facebook at and follow us on Twitter at


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


We'll have an open practice on April 27 followed by the All Star Sprints on May 4