All Star Sprints coming to Sharon for Ohio Speedweek June 25; 1st of 4 Sprint races of 2013 on Tuesday

All Star Sprints coming to Sharon for Ohio Speedweek June 25; 1st of 4 Sprint races of 2013 on Tuesday

By Mike Leone

June 18, 2013

(Hartford, OH)…The “410” Sprint Cars will be making their first of four appearances of the 2013 season at Sharon Speedway coming up Tuesday, June 25 when the All Star Circuit of Champions come to town for the 31st annual Ohio Sprint Speedweek.  The HTMA/Precise Racing Products Econo Mods and Deforest Used Parts Mini Stocks will also be on the card.  Qualifying for Sprints will get underway at 6:30 p.m. followed by racing.

This year’s version of Ohio Sprint Speedweek will feature eight nights of racing over nine days at seven different speedways beginning at Attica Raceway Park on Friday night (June 21) with the Sharon event being stop #5 of the popular summer tradition.  Sharon’s race will pay $5,000 to-win.

After a five-year absence, Ohio Speedweek returned to Sharon in 2010 as Tim Shaffer topped a 42-car field for the victory.  In 2011 it was hometown favorite Dale Blaney winning the Sharon leg of Speedweek over a 45-car field for his 13th career win at the track.  Last year, in a stunning turn of events, local Brandon Matus came out victorious for his first career win with both the All Stars and at Sharon.  Another strong field of 43 cars was on hand.

“Sharon has always played in an important part in Ohio Speedweek history,” explained fourth year GM Dave Willoughby. “Sharon was there at the beginning, and we’re happy once again to be part of this long-running tradition.  We hope the fans and racers come out and support this great event so we can continue to host this event for years to come.”

Ohio Speedweek always draws in the best talent from the Midwest, western Pennsylvania, along the All Star regulars, usually a few central Pa. cars, and always some surprises.  Last year, Tony Stewart appeared to have the race in hand until a flat tire in the late stages of the event.  NASCAR’s Kasey Kahne, Dave Blaney, phenom Kyle Larson, and Brad Sweet also have all competed in recent years, and you never know when they may show up.

Dale Blaney is quickly closing in on a major milestone with the All Stars.  Blaney’s two wins this year have upped his win total to a remarkable 95 for his career.  While of course he’s five wins shy of the century mark, Blaney needs three more to tie Kenny Jacob’s all-time leading 98-win mark.  Aliquippa’s Tim Shaffer has climbed the All Star win ladder as he sits with 51 career victories.  Shaffer, a four-time Sharon winner, has been shutout of victory lane this season.

Danny Holtgraver is one of the up and coming rising stars of Sprint Car racing.  The Pittsburgh racer has three career wins at Sharon and has really stepped up his game the last two seasons with several major wins.  Already this year, Holtgraver has an All Star win at West Virginia’s I-77 Raceway Park giving him four for his career over the past two seasons, was the $10,000 “King of the 360s” winner at East Bay in Florida, was a recent winner at Attica Raceway Park, and has three wins at nearby Mercer Raceway Park.

Other full-time All Star regulars include South Dakota’s Justin Henderson in Rick Ferkel’s famous #0, Cap Henry, Caleb Helms, and Trey Gustin; however, the All Star talent for Ohio shows always runs deep especially for Ohio Speedweek events as evidenced by over 42 cars at Sharon for each of the last three years.

Atop the all-time Sharon Speedway Sprint Car win list is Ed Lynch, Jr.  The Apollo, Pa. driver has scaled back his operations the past three seasons running predominately special events only; however, is a perfect two-for-two in local starts at Lernerville Speedway.  Lynch is expected to be in the field looking to add to his 50-win mark.

The HTMA/Precise Racing Products Econo Mods and Deforest Used Parts Mini Stocks will also be on the card in full point events.  The Econo Mods will race for $350 to-win, while the Mini Stocks will battle for $200 to-win.

Gates open at 4 p.m. A drivers meeting will be held at 5:45 p.m.  Sprint hot laps at 6:10, qualifying for the Sprints at approximately 6:30 and racing to follow.  Adult admission is $22.  Kids 13 and under are always free.  Pit passes are $35.

The 410 Sprint Cars will return next to Sharon on Saturday, July 6, but this time without the wing as the BOSS Series makes their first of two appearances.  BOSS will be back at it on Saturday, August 17 for another non-wing affair.

The final Sprint Car show of 2013 will be the fifth annual Lou Blaney Memorial on Tuesday, August 20 for a another $5,000 to-win feature.  The Governor Insurance Agency DIRTcar Big-Block Modifieds will also be on the card for $2,000 to-win BRP Tour event.  The Alzheimer’s Association Benefit event will feature NASCAR’s Tony Stewart, Kasey Kahne, and Dave Blaney racing Sprint Cars.

Sharon Speedway is owned by the Blaney, Weller, and Kirila Families and is a 3/8-mile dirt track located on Custer-Orangeville Road in Hartford, Ohio near the intersection of Routes 7 & 305. For more information, check out the website at or call 330-772-5481.  Become a fan of Sharon Speedway on Facebook at and follow us on Twitter at


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


Thank you for a great 2018 season...see you on April 12, 2019 for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series to kick off the 90th anniversary season!