Sharon announces Integra sealed shock rule for growing Econo Mods for 2014-2016

Sharon announces Integra sealed shock rule for growing Econo Mods for 2014-2016

By Mike Leone

October 29, 2013

(Hartford, OH)…Sharon Speedway officials have announced they have come to an agreement with Integra Shocks that will require the growing Econo Mod division to be on an Integra 42 Series sealed welded bearing shock for the 2014, 2015, and 2016 seasons. The shock retails for $69.95 at most suppliers. The top 10 drivers in the 2014-2016 points will receive one free Integra sealed shock each year at the awards banquet.

The Econo Mods will begin their fifth season of competition in 2014. This past season saw the HTMA/Precise Racing Products-sponsored division grow in leaps and bounds. In just its second full season of being on the weekly Saturday night “Steel Valley Thunder” program, the Econo Mods averaged 21 cars per night, but more impressively never dipped below 22 cars in the final eight events! In fact, an all-time record of 27 cars participated in the September 14-15 “Apple Festival Nationals”. All told 47 different drivers competed throughout the 2013 season.

“We’ve been very proud of the growth of the Econo Mod division,” stated GM Dave Willoughby. “The division has grown in participation and car counts each year; however, we want to be proactive and continue to implement cost-saving measures to sustain the growth into the future. Even though we had a shock claim rule, the cost of shocks was becoming a great concern. When we voted on implementing this rule for 2014, 85% of the racers were for it.”

The complete 2014 Econo Mod rules will be posted soon. The following are the required Integra 42 Series Shock part numbers:

7″ SHOCKS 310-42173
7″ SHOCKS 310-42173-5
7″ SHOCKS 310-42174
7″ SHOCKS 310-42174-6
7″ SHOCKS 310-42174-8
7″ SHOCKS 310-42175
7″ SHOCKS 310-42175-3
7″ SHOCKS 310-42176
7″ SHOCKS 310-42176-3
7″ SHOCKS 310-42179-1

9″ SHOCKS 310-42193
9″ SHOCKS 310-42193-5
9″ SHOCKS 310-42194
9″ SHOCKS 310-42194-6
9″ SHOCKS 310-42195
9″ SHOCKS 310-42196
9″ SHOCKS 310-42196-3
9″ SHOCKS 310-42198-2

The 2013 award banquet and dinner will be on Saturday, February 1 at the Yankee Lake (OH) Ballroom located on Route 7 just north of Brookfield. Also, stay tuned for more information on the upcoming snowmobile races to be held this winter.

Sharon Speedway is owned by the Blaney, Weller, and Kirila Families and is a 3/8-mile dirt track located on Custer-Orangeville Road in Hartford, Ohio near the intersection of Routes 7 & 305. For more information, check out the website at or call 330-772-5481. Become a fan of Sharon Speedway on Facebook at and follow us on Twitter at @SharonSpdwy.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


Congrats 8/24 winners Joe Gabrielson-Outlaw Mods, Andy Feil-RUSH Sprints, Chris Schneider-Stocks & Chas Wolbert-RUSH Mods!