“Summer Jam & BBQ Series” Friday night followed by the return of the ULMS Super Late Models & more Saturday

“Summer Jam & BBQ Series” Friday night followed by the return of the ULMS Super Late Models & more Saturday

By Mike Leone

May 27, 2015

(Hartford, OH)…After getting week number two in last Saturday night after losing three of the first four events to Mother Nature, Sharon Speedway will roll into this weekend with a doubleheader of events on tap.  Friday night will feature the first “Summer Jam & BBQ Series, while racing returns on Saturday night featuring the ULMS Super Late Models, Hovis Auto & Truck Supply DIRTcar Big-Block Modifieds, Weller Hughes Contracting & Developing RUSH Sportsman Modifieds, HTMA/Precise Racing Products Econo Mods, and the Deforest Used Parts Mini Stocks.  Racing begins at 7 p.m.

Friday’s event will be the first of four “Summer Jam & BBQ Series”.  Gates will open at 6 p.m. for the 9 p.m. performance by “Key West”- a Jimmy Buffet Tribute band in the new pavilion located behind the main grandstands.  Food and spirits will be available all night long.  Admission is $5.  Free camping is available all weekend.

After a two-year absence, the Super Late Models will be back at Sharon in a ULMS-sanctioned event paying $2,000 to win. Group hot lap qualifying will set the heat race line-ups, which will determine the starting line-up for the 25-lap Zimmer’s Service Center feature. Late Model racers are reminded Sharon uses the red AMB transponders. There will be limited rentals available.

Past ULMS winners at Sharon are Davey Johnson, Keith Barbara, Mike Knight, and Boom Briggs, who now follows the World of Outlaw tour and has contacted ULMS in regards to this event. Johnson owns 27 career wins at Sharon, which is second all-time on the win list.

Barbara, former Pittsburgh’s PA Motor Speedway champion, Michael Davis, along with West Virginia racer, Corey Conley have also confirmed they will venture to the Hartford, Ohio oval. John Lobb of Frewsburg, NY won the season opening ULMS event is the current point leader over Jared Miley of South Park, PA. Greg Oakes, John Volpe, Chad Valone and defending champion Jason Dupont are less than eight points behind Lobb. Other expected racers are local hot shoe, Russ King who will be looking to grab his second career ULMS win along with Clay Ruffo of Mercer and other outsiders as well.

Can anyone stop Rex King, Jr.!? The defending champion has gone two-for-two to open up the 2015 season in the DIRTcar Big-Block Modifieds after coming off a career best season in 2014. The Bristolville, Ohio driver will be unable to start any better than 12th on Saturday night due to his two straight wins. One driver that might have something to say is Kevin Bolland, who has confirmed he’ll return to racing Saturday after two years off. Bolland owns 21 career victories at Sharon. The elder Rex King has been sitting at 49 wins looking for that milestone 50th. He’s currently six points back in points of his son, while New York’s Ricky Richner is third.

Another driver coming off two straight wins is Greg Martin in the RUSH Sportsman Modifieds. The Wilson, New York driver has taken a liking to the Hartford, Ohio oval scoring six wins and four runner-up finishes in 10 appearances over the past two seasons! Martin will not only chase after the Sharon crown, but the $3,000 to-win Bicknell Racing Products RUSH Weekly Series Championship. Ohio’s Kyle Martell, a 15-year-old has recorded two runner-up finishes to Martin, and trails him by just six in Sharon’s points. Nick Ritchey, Chelsie Kriegisch, and Rocky Kugel are sitting in a three-way tie for third place in points.

It was stated in season previews that the Econo Mod division would be wide open with new winners expected and that’s held true after two events. Opening night saw Butch Lambert capture his first career win; Lambert though was one of several top drivers that got caught up in an opening lap accident last Saturday night. When all was said in done and done, just five drivers finished the event with four of them never having won a feature. Taking the win was the much improved Mike Hillman, who now leads the HTMA/Precise Racing Products points by three over Saturday’s runner-up finisher, Brian Foley, Jr.

Defending two-time champion Bill Fuchs is looking strong once again in the Mini Stocks. The Greenville, Pa. driver won his 24th feature of his career last Saturday night, which leads the division all-time, and has jumped out to an eight-point leader over opening night winner, Pete Blazczak, who looks to contend for the Deforest Used Parts title for the first time.

The Summit Racing Equipment Modifieds and the Gibson Insurance Agency Stock Cars will have the night off, but will return to action on Saturday, June 6 for a full “Steel Valley Thunder” program.

Saturday’s kitchen special is meatloaf with mashed potatoes and gravy and vegetable. The raffle and beer proceeds charity will be local police and fire departments.

Hovis Auto & Truck Supply will again award six complimentary pit passes for the following week; a pair going to the hard luck driver in DIRTcar Big-Block Modifieds, a pair to a lucky driver in the division that competes first, and a pair to a lucky fan. Summit Racing Equipment will award $25 gift cards to the hard charger in the Econo Mod and Mini Stock divisions.

Pits open at 4 p.m. with grandstands at 5, warm-ups for Super Late Models at approximately 6:40 with racing getting underway at 7.  Admission for those 14 and over is $15.  Pit passes are $30.  As always, children under 13, parking, and camping is always FREE!  Sharon has a no carry-in cooler policy.

Sharon Speedway is owned by the Blaney, Weller, and Kirila Families and is a 3/8-mile dirt track located on Custer-Orangeville Road in Hartford, Ohio near the intersection of Routes 7 & 305. For more information, check out the website at www.sharonspeedway.com or call 330-772-5481. Become a fan of Sharon Speedway on Facebook at www.facebook.com/sharonspeedway and follow us on Twitter at www.twitter.com/sharonspdwy.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


Congrats 8/24 winners Joe Gabrielson-Outlaw Mods, Andy Feil-RUSH Sprints, Chris Schneider-Stocks & Chas Wolbert-RUSH Mods!