Track History

Sharon Speedway is one of the oldest, continuously running weekly racetracks in the United States. Rusty Wallace, Tom Sneva, Tony Stewart, Lee Petty Dave Blaney, Kyle Larson, and Christopher Bell are among a long list of drivers who have competed here since Sharon Speedway started operations in 1929. In 1954, the track even featured NASCAR competition, including a major 200-lap race in which Lee Petty beat Buck Baker and Herb Thomas to the checkered flag.

In 2002, NASCAR Nextel Cup driver Dave Blaney along with area businessmen Jim Weller Sr. of Liberty Steel Products and Bill and Ron Kirila of Kirila Contractors, purchased Sharon Speedway. Extensive renovations were made to the facility and the track was shortened to its current 3/8 mile configuration.  Stewart won his first career “410” Sprint race at the track and in recent years Larson and Bell have picked up Sprint Cars wins with the All Stars.  Prior to the 2017 season, over 100 tri-axle loads of red clay was brought in with additional added before the 2018 season.  The first ever Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event was held in 2017.