Sharon Speedway

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4

This is the excerpt area for the headline. It can be up to 150 characters and contain an internal or external link.

This is the excerpt area for the headline. It can be up to 150 characters and contain an internal or external link.

This is the excerpt area for the headline. It can be up to 150 characters and contain an internal or external link.

This is the excerpt area for the headline. It can be up to 150 characters and contain an internal or external link.



Sharon Speedway


By Mike Leone

June 19, 2024

(Hartford, OH)…After three special events kicked off the 95th anniversary season, Sharon Speedway will host its second straight "Steel Valley Thunder" weekly program this Saturday night (June 22). The Hovis Auto & Truck Supply UMP Modifieds will highlight the program and will be joined by the Billy's Garage RUSH Sprint Cars, Gibson Insurance Agency Pro Stocks, and the HTMA/Precise Racing Products RUSH Sportsman Modifieds. It's A&MP Electric and Mark Thomas Ford Night. Race time is 7 p.m.

The Hovis Auto & Truck UMP Modifieds presented by A&MP Electric will be making their first of five appearances of 2024 on Saturday night. The $1,000 to-win event is part of the "Local's Cup" Series with other area speedways. The UMP Mods will return on July 20, August 10, August 24 for the "Bill Gabrielson Memorial", and finally on Friday, September 6 for the "Apple Festival Nationals". Econo Mods can compete with the UMP Mods on Saturday because their division is not in action; however, must meet all UMP Mod specs.

There have been 331 races run all-time in the UMP Mod division dating back to the mid 1990s on the half-mile track with 61 different winners. Alan Dellinger, who no longer competes in the division, is still the all-time winner at 87. Joel Watson, who is still active, is second with 30 victories followed by Scott Stiffler, who has moved into the Pro Stocks, with 20. Last year, four events were completed with Ty Rhoades the only repeat winner as he upped his career total to three, while Dave Hess, Jr. captured his fifth career win at the track, and Bud Watson was a first time winner.

The Billy's Garage RUSH Sprint Cars will be making their third appearance in the last 11 days. Arnie Kent won the June 12 opener for his first win at Sharon in nearly 22 years, while Blaze Myers won his third career at the track last Saturday night. Overall on the RUSH circuit, there have been five different winners in six races as John Mollick leads the $5,000 to-win Sunbelt Rentals Weekly Series points. Mollick has never won in the RUSH Sprints at Sharon.

The Gibson Insurance Agency Pro Stocks will make their third visit of 2024 on Saturday. The Pro Stocks were part of the World of Outlaws Sprint Car show on May 18 when a big field of 35 cars were on hand. On that night, Christian Schneider won his first career Sharon race worth $1,000 as he became the 219th different driver to win a Pro Stock race in the history of the track. This past Saturday night, Curt J. Bish came from sixth to win his 12th career feature. Twenty-four or more cars on Saturday will mean a $750 to-win feature event.

The HTMA/Precise Racing RUSH Sportsman Modifieds will finally make their first appearance of the season as they will be beginning their 11th season of racing at Sharon on Saturday night. The division has annually averaged over a full field of cars and since 2016. Chas Wolbert, who is back racing in the division after competing full-time with the Big-Block Modifieds in 2021 and 2022, sits atop the all-time win list with 20 victories. Garrett Krummert, who competes in the division on a part-time basis, has 11 wins. Two-time track champion, Kole Holden, and defending RUSH Weekly Series Champion, Ayden Cipriano, each have five victories. On the RUSH Mod circuit in 2024, there have been six different winners in eight events as Wolbert is the only multiple winner with three as he's upped his all-time leading total to 49 with the Series.

Summit Racing Equipment will present the hard charger award to the RUSH Sportsman Modified division. The driver that passes the most cars in the feature will receive a $100 Summit gift card. In the event of a tie, the tiebreaker will be the driver that finished highest in the feature.

The Performance Bodies "Nosed Out" program will award a $100 Performance Bodies gift card redeemable only at Wedge Motorsports to a driver in the UMP Mods or Pro Stocks. The recipient amongst any of those competing divisions will be the driver that most closely beat out another competitor for any finishing position on the lead lap. Tiebreaker will be the driver with the best finishing position.

UMP Modified Payoff: 1. $1,000 2. $700 3. $400 4. $300 5. $200 6. $175 7. $140 8. $125 9. $120 10. $115 11. $110 12. $105 13-24. $100. Tow/Non-Qualifiers $50.

There is no Sharon registration fee. One-way driver radios are mandatory; channel 454.000. AMB/MyLaps transponders are required; rentals available for $25. If you have yet to register for the 2024 season, please bring the registration form with you completed

Fans can not only experience viewing from the frontstretch and backstretch grandstands, but also from the infield fan zone, which includes concessions and restrooms. Sharon is the only track in the area to have viewing from the unique infield perspective. There will be times throughout the night when fans can cross on the frontstretch back and forth.

The pits will be open throughout the afternoon with passes going on sale at 4 p.m., while general admission opens at 5. Warmups for the UMP Mods and RUSH Sportsman Modifieds will take place at 6:40 p.m. followed by motor heat for the RUSH Sprints. Racing will begin at 7 p.m.

Grandstand/fan zone admission for those 14 and over is $15, while senior admission is $13. Patio seating upgrades are just $10 and fan suite seating upgrades are just $20 over the cost of general admission. These can be upgraded on race night at the track office. As always, children under 14 and parking are always FREE. Pit passes are $30. As a reminder, coolers nor outside food or beverages are not permitted.

Coming up on Saturday, June 29 will be a "Super Series" event presented by Bala Management featuring the Hovis Auto & Truck Supply "410" Sprint Cars racing for $4,000 to-win, $400 to-start. The Gibson Insurance Agency Pro Stocks, HTMA/Precise Racing Products RUSH Sportsman Modifieds, and the Whelen Econo Mods will also be on the card. Qualifying for the Sprints will get underway at 6:30 p.m. followed by racing at 7.

Sharon Speedway is owned by the Blaney, Weller, and Kirila Families and is a 3/8-mile dirt track located on Custer-Orangeville Road in Hartford, Ohio near the intersection of Routes 7 & 305. For more information, check out the website at or call 330-772-5481. Like us on Facebook at and follow us on Twitter @sharonspdwy.

Article Credit: Mike Leone

Back to News
Fan Club
Patio Seating

Shop Online

Latest Photos

Latest Videos

#1 Cochran
AMP Electric
Bala Management
Barris Supply Company
Bazel Race Fuels
Big Blue
Bring It On With Veronica
Coca Cola
Cortland Mower Sales
Diamond Steel
First National Bank
Gibson Insurance Agency
Groover Roofing
Hartford Orchards
Hoosier Tire
Hovis Auto Truck Supply
Liberty Steel
Mark Thomas Ford
Mays Towing
Stackhouse Construction
Summit Racing Equipment
Sunoco Race Fuels
Terry Bowser Excavating
Thermo Radiant
Tri City Collision
Twenty First Energy Group
Warehouse Sales
Warren Harley Davidson
Wholesale Fireworks
Thermo Supply
Billys Garage